Executive Director, Virginia Environmental Endowment

Joe Maroon accepted the position of Executive Director of the Virginia Environmental Endowment in May 2013, after the retirement of VEE’s long-time director Gerald McCarthy. Maroon has over 30 years of experience working on a wide range of natural resource issues, including Chesapeake Bay restoration, land conservation, stormwater management, nonpoint source pollution, outdoor recreation, etc. His previous leadership experience includes two gubernatorial appointments as the agency director for the Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation (2002-2010), serving as the Virginia Executive Director of the Chesapeake Bay Foundation for over 16 years (1985-2002) and as a senior staff member of the Virginia Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission (JLARC) (1978-1985). From 2010 to 2013, he operated his own environmental consulting practice in which he assisted governments, businesses, and nonprofit clients on matters relating to environmental policy, stormwater regulation, nutrient trading and natural resource planning. Since 2012, he has served as adjunct faculty member at the University of Virginia, where he teaches a graduate course in Environmental Policy and Planning, and as an adjunct faculty member/fellow for the Virginia Tech Executive Master’s in Natural Resources Program based in Northern Virginia. He has served on numerous boards and commissions and is currently a member of the Chesapeake Bay Program’s Citizens Advisory Committee, the Statewide Advisory Board to the Virginia Water Resources Research Center, the Virginia Chesapeake Bay Stakeholder Advisory Committee, and a regional panel relating to nutrient credit pollution trading. Maroon has also received several awards including the 2000 Outstanding Environmental Leader Award in Virginia presented at VMI, the 2009 Gerald McCarthy Award for Environmental Conflict Resolution from UVA, and the Virginia Water Resources Leadership Award in 2006 from Virginia Tech, as well as awards for his work in land conservation, stormwater management, and wetlands protection. In 2010, the Virginia General Assembly passed a commending resolution honoring him for his career and contributions.